Zum Hauptinhalt

Archiv - Gartenreisen mit Hortitours

Das Buch zur Reise: "Deutschlands alte Bäume"»Deutschlands alte Bäume«

Freitag, 20.7. - Sonntag, 29.7.2007

The following German texts to the individual trees were taken with kind permission by BLV Publishers and translated into English by us. The texts can be read in the German Book "Deutschlands alte Bäume", BLV Verlag, München, 2007.

Tour Review

  • Friday, 27. July

SchlosseicheToday we were in the region of Munich. In the morning we left to visit two trees in the north of the Bavarian capital. The first tree was the Schlosseiche (Quercus robur) (No. 147)* near Eisolzried in the district of Dachau.

The tree had an age of 500-700 years and in 1994 its circumference measured 9.60 m. In the first part of his coffee-table book on 'The largest, oldest and most peculiar trees in Bavaria', Friedrich Stützer wrote in 1900:

'Not easily will you find a lonely footpath marked by such a mighty sign as in the village of Eisolzried by our oak.'

The lonely footpath led to Palsweis, as a signpost on the pedunculate oak (Quercus robur) indicated in those days - even then, the tree was impressive. It no longer serves as a guidepost for walking on foot seems to have gone out of fashion and the former walkers have turned into car drivers. Its second name, too - 'Castle Oak' - makes one wonder for the castle which the oak belonged to was pulled down in its entirety around the turn of the 19th century. The oak is a remnant of the 'lovely forest' around the castle, which was reported in 1737. One hundred years ago, at its peak, the oak had a trunk circumference of 8 m at man's height. Size and diameter of its crown were around 25 m. And since the ground around it is poor-quality diluvian scree, as early as 1900, its age was supposed to be '700 years'.

Its trunk has since become even bigger, but the volume of its crown has gone down despite the wonderfully dense foliage. Lightning, the fiery arm of Donar, went into the oak many years ago, leaving a scar 40 cm wide from the base of the crown right down to the ground.
Location: At the entry to Eisolzried west of Dachau, towards Lauterbach.

We continued for a very short drive and visited the Silberpappel in Lauterbach (Populus alba) (No.15).

It has a circumference of 5.99 m, at an age of 150 to 200 years. White poplars can easily grow trunks more than 10 m in circumference. This poplar at the baroque church of Lauterbach near Dachau, has this task still ahead of itself.

After our visit in Lauterbach we decided to visit another most impressive tree Hohllinde in Obermarbach (No. 144). In der Hohl "Am Kichberg in Obermarbach grows one of the most bizarre tree in all Germany. On a 45 degree sloping hillside holds a hollow lime tight. The lilting level of the lime tree could be of concern, should there not be these meter thick side roots.

We departed south into Munich and arrived around lunchtime at the famous Botanic Garden Munich.

Towards the end of the last century the Botanical Garden, founded in 1812, was situated in the city centre and due to recurring cession of territory it had been reduced to a no longer functional size. Therefore, in 1914 a new site of 22 ha was obtained on the outskirts of the city. With Nymphenburg Schlosspark to the south of the newly laid out garden perfect protection was afforded from any future in the glasshouses and the outside garden approximately 14 000 different plant species from around the world are cultivated. Since 1966 the Botanical Garden and the neighbouring Botanical State Collection as well as the Institute for Systematic Botany of Munich University joined to create a productive union. With the State Scientific Collection and the adjoining Museums the Garden now comes under one administrative body.

The part of the glasshouses accessible to the public comprises 4500m2. From the sides of three large connected glasshouses lead off smaller glasshouses containing more specialised collections. The first of the large glasshouses displays plants from arid regions of the New World, while the third of the large glasshouses contains arid plants from the Old World. Between them lies the Tropical House with it's 20m high cupola.

First on the right is the Orchid House with a rich and varied display chosen from the 2000 orchid species which make up the reserve collection, next comes the Tropical Economic Plant House followed by the Victoria House, which in summer is hot and humid and in winter is used for the display of temperate plants. The Water Plant House with its aquariums follows and two smaller display houses, one planted out with succulents the other with cacti.

From the main entrance again, to the left is the Temperate House wherein pot plants are included in the display in summer and to which a small glasshouse for epiphytic ferns is attached. Thereafter comes the Tree Fern House with the begonias and gesneriaceae followed by the Cycad House. The last glasshouse on the left contains the bromeliad, ginger and aron sword collection.

We left to the city of Munich and took a stroll along the famous pedestrian zone. We headed towards the Hofbräuhaus am Platzl 1. In 2007 the world famous Hofbräuhaus celebrates 400 years of beer brewing tradition. Wilhelm V., Duke of Bavaria (1579 - 1597), had a thirsty and demanding royal household, which was dissatisfied with the beer brewed in Munich. As a result, beer had to be imported to Munich from the city of Einbeck in Lower Saxony. Wilhelm ordered his royal court to come up with a way to reconcile cost and pleasure.

HofbräuhausOn September 27, 1589, the chamberlains and council members, C. Strabl, A. Amasmeyr, S. Prew and G. Griesmair, approached him with an idea: why not build their own brewery? Wilhelm welcomed the plan with open arms. As a matter of fact, that same day, he recruited the master brewer of the Geisenfeld Monastery, Heimeran Pongraz, to be the planner, developer and the first "brown" Hofbräuhaus' master brewer, which went into operation at the "Alter Hof" (Old Court ) in 1592. It was called the "brown" Hofbräuhaus as only brown ale was brewed there.

Wilhelm's son and successor, Duke Maximilian I., had a somewhat different taste in beer. He did not particularly enjoy the heavy brown ale, which was the most popular "barley juice" at the time. Not only was Maximilian a gourmet, he was also an extremely clever businessman when it came to finances and marketing. Without much ado, he simply forbade all other private brewing sites from brewing wheat beer, thereby securing a wheat beer monopoly for himself and his ducal Hofbräuhaus. This not only meant a considerable source of income for the ducal court, but also nearly 400 years of experience in brewing wheat beer for HB in Munich!

It is not easy being successful! The wheat beer of Maximilian I enjoyed such enormous sales that the brewery at the Old Court could not keep up with demand. The stately volume of 38,000 gallons (1,444 hectolitres) of beer brewed at the ducal Hofbräuhaus in 1605 - a veritable ocean of beer for those times - was simply not enough anymore. Maximilian decided to move wheat beer production and ordered that the new "white" Hofbräuhaus be built at "Platzl," a small square not far from the court, where the Hofbräuhaus still stands today. It was called the "white" Hofbräuhaus because exclusively white (or wheat) beer was brewed there.

Of course, constructing such a building had its price. A financial genius, Maximilian I. recognized wheat beer's potential and transformed his peoples' thirst into hard cash. In 1610, he issued an edict that allowed Munich 's tavern keepers to purchase beer from the ducal Hofbräuhaus and to serve it not only to the court servants, but also to the "common folk." Although this had been done on the sly before the decree was issued, it was now officially sanctioned by the court.

Elias Pichler, the successor to Heimeran Pongraz, was under pressure. The new brewery at the Platzl was up and running, beer was being brewed, but now the royal household grumbled: in the past there was that good, strong beer from Einbeck, but now there's only brown and wheat beer we brew ourselves. Bring on something stronger! After experimenting around a bit, Pichler presented Munich's first beer brewed in the Einbeck tradition at the beginning of 1614. Christened "Maibock", this beer would soon save the city of Munich. In 1632, during the Thirty Years War when the Swedes occupied Munich, they struck a deal with the city: in exchange for not pillaging and plundering the city they were given 1,000 buckets of beer from the Hofbräuhaus, including 361 buckets of Maibock.

The historic beer hall on the first floor of the building is considered the heart of the Hofbräuhaus.

Here, where Hofbräuhaus beer was once brewed, underneath the cross vaults, up to 1,300 guests can sit at tables, some of which have been here since 1897 as testified by the many initials, names and comments engraved on them.

We moved to the first floor, where tonight was the traditional Bavarian night. We enjoyed an evening with traditional Germany Bavarian music, alp horn blowing or the famous Schuh-Plattler and had a buffet for dinner and of couse ample of the famouns Hofbräuhaus beer!

At the end of the evening we departed to our hotel "Strobl".

Next: Saturday, 28. July